Freshman Orientation: Meet the Legislature's freshman class

When the Nevada Legislature officially starts on Monday, the crop of freshman lawmakers will make up nearly a third of the 63-member body.

The Nevada Independent tracked down and profiled 21 “freshman” lawmakers ahead of the session, a broad list that includes several returning faces like Democratic Assemblyman Skip Daly and Republican Sen. Heidi Gansert.

Lawmakers who didn’t respond to the questionnaire, which was sent out on Jan. 3, include Gansert, Daly and Republican Assembly members Richard McArthur and Jim Marchant.

We also profiled the two Democrats who will play an outsized role throughout the Legislature: Senate Majority Leader Aaron Ford and Assembly Speaker Jason Frierson. Links to those stories, as well as all of the “Freshman Orientation” series, are below.


Compton to Carson: Jason Frierson's historic path to power

Aaron Ford's rise to the Senate pinnacle, from food stamps to floor leader

Ford and Frierson: Will the Legislature's new leaders be complements or competitors?


Democratic Sen. Julia Ratti

Democratic Sen. Nicole Cannizzaro

Democratic Sen. Yvanna Cancela

Republican Sen. Heidi Gansert

Democratic Assemblyman Skip Daly

Democratic Assemblyman Chris Brooks

Democratic Assemblywoman Shannon Bilbray-Axelrod

Democratic Assemblyman Steve Yeager

Democratic Assemblyman Justin Watkins

Democratic Assemblywoman Brittney Miller

Democratic Assemblywoman Daniele Monroe-Moreno

Democratic Assemblywoman Lesley Cohen

Democratic Assemblyman Ozzie Fumo

Democratic Assemblyman William McCurdy II

Republican Assemblywoman Lisa Krasner

Republican Assemblyman Al Kramer

Republican Assemblyman Keith Pickard

Republican Assemblyman Richard McArthur

Republican Assemblywoman Jill Tolles

Republican Assemblyman Jim Marchant

Democratic Assemblywoman Sandra Jauregui